Kandidly Kaptured

The imperfections of perfection

Friends Playing on the Beach

Perfection. Something that I constantly strive for. I always want everything to look exactly the way I saw it in my head. But when I strive for this unachievable goal, it leaves me resentful and angry when it doesn’t work out perfectly.

In my mind, I think that perfection equals success; that once everything is perfectly how I planned it to be, then my goal is fulfilled. I personally struggle with this on a daily basis. My incapability to make my leg kick as high as the girls’ next to me, or the way that my hair doesn’t fall perfectly straight like that other girl at school, or anything like that makes me so angry and I just feel hopeless. I, naturally, am a really competitive person. I’m constantly trying to do better than the person next to me. That’s how I motivate myself. This competitiveness is a blessing and a curse. Because competing is comparing. And there are some things that I compare myself to that I will never be able to achieve.

Something that I need to learn is that perfection isn’t necessarily having everything perfectly organized and all that. Perfection is a vision. Something that I may see as a mess, someone else may see as PERFECT or vice versa. Perfection can be imperfect.

I’m not saying to settle for less than can be achieved. You should work as hard as you can at whatever it is you choose to do. But at a certain point it’s good to stop and look around and appreciate what you have.

Just stop and take a deep breath. Because in all the craziness that you are in the middle of in life, there could be a beautiful moment that you are missing because you are too busy looking at that perfect goal that you have in your mind.

As said in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, ” Life moves pretty fast, if you don’t stop and look around once and a while, you could miss it.”

Stop and look around and appreciate imperfection. Appreciate that weird scar you have on your foot. Appreciate that girl who talks so fast that you have no idea what she’s saying half the time. Appreciate the girl who dyes her hair a different color everyday. Appreciate the boy who has longer hair than anyone else. Appreciate differences. Because imagine how boring life would be if we all looked the same and talked the same and acted the same. Imagine if everything were perfect…. would perfection even be perfect? These individual differences and imperfections are what make life beautiful and special.

So, as you read this, I want you to think about the last time you got mad because something didn’t go the way you wanted it. Someone didn’t do what you wanted them to do. When something didn’t go perfectly. Think of that imperfection. And appreciate it. I am SOOO guilty of getting mad at others when they do something to mess up my plan. And as of right now, I’m deciding to change that. To open my mind up and look at the glass half full. I’m going to start to appreciate the imperfections and flaws that make people special, and I hope you will too. 🙂

 

Share your thoughts

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2014 by in original and tagged , , , , , , .
